Islands, islands, islands... - Reisverslag uit George Town, Maleisië van Michel Raijmakers - WaarBenJij.nu Islands, islands, islands... - Reisverslag uit George Town, Maleisië van Michel Raijmakers - WaarBenJij.nu

Islands, islands, islands...

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Michel

25 Maart 2014 | Maleisië, George Town

Yes, it really happened... I got out of Bangkok!

My first stop was Koh Tao, an island in the south of Thailand known as one of the best and cheapest places to get a diving license.
After 3 days of watching videos, theory classes, homework, an exam, practicing in the swimming pool, 4 dives in the ocean until 18 meters deep and cutting my hand on a shark!
(... ok it was one made of stone lying at the bottom, but still, it hurts..)
I was allowed to call myself a licensed open water diver :-)

Next stop on the route down south was Krabi on the west coast. A small town with not too many tourists and great breakfasts. It is funny how exciting you can get if you see slices of freshly baked dark bread after a month of rice and toast!
The only activity I did was a 4 islands tour which involved a cave, some beaches and a snorkeling spot. Unfortunately the beaches were small and I saw more people than fishes under water. I guess you get spoiled when you travel a lot..

On the last day of my 30 days Thailand visum, I got a bus and boat transport to Langkawi, an island north west of Malaysia. Apparently, the less you pay, the more modes of transport you will get...
We started in a minivan, but I had to switch 3 times to other minivans and sort of tuk tuks and did some useless waiting in between before they managed to arrive at the pier 15 min after the boat left.. This meant that we had to wait a couple of hours for the next one. Ah well, that's what travelling is about!

The reward for all of this was a tropical, tax free island with cheap beer and booze in Malaysia, Langkawi!
The first night you wonder why people drink in front of a 7 Eleven supermarket, but as soon as you realize that they don't sell alcohol in restaurants and bars, you are also one of those pathetic losers drinking on the street in front of a supermarket :-)

By now I'm in Georgetown on the island Penang. It is quite a big city and it doesn't feel like an island, which is nice for a change. My hostel is in Chinatown and the Little India neighbourhood is right next to it, so there is plenty of delicious food all around. There are many menus where you can only read the price, so you just point at something and hope for the best. So far it works out great.

It wasn't in my travel plan, but I heard so many good stories about it that I will be heading to the Perhentian islands on the east coast. A small backpackers island with nice beaches and good dive sites, I should be able to hang out there for a couple of days.

  • 06 April 2014 - 13:30

    Patty:

    ´here are many menus where you can only read the price, so you just point at something and hope for the best´ ----> Eso me pasaba a mí al principio en Holanda, cuando no entendía dutch :p :p :p

  • 17 Mei 2014 - 04:55

    Martin:

    He Michel, update die site eens een keer lambal.
    Ik ben benieuwd naar je avonturen.
    En al plannen om langs te komen in Taipei?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Michel

Actief sinds 24 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 374
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5927

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Februari 2014 - 18 December 2014

Backpacking through Asia

Landen bezocht: